All tagged philosophy

SPOTLIGHT!

Still Breathing 

By E.A. Fournier

Newly widowed and on the threshold of seventy, Lizzie Warton questions the value of her remaining years. Uncharacteristically, she decides for the first time in her life to do what she wants, instead of what everyone expects.

*** Click here to keep reading + an excerpt & for your chance to win an Amazon Gift Card + a copy of Still Breathing! ***

SPOTLIGHT!

Of Metal and Earth 

By Jennifer M. Lane

Fans of THIS IS US, MITCH ALBOM, and NICHOLAS SPARKS will enjoy this heart-warming tale of restoration and redemption, a must read book for anyone inspired by the the resiliency of the human spirit.

*** Click here to read more + an excerpt from Of Metal and Earth! ***

REVIEW!

Born Scared

By Kevin Brooks

Elliot is terrified of almost everything.

From the moment he was born, his life has been governed by acute fear. The only thing that keeps his terrors in check are the pills that he takes every day…

*** Click here to continue reading & for my review of Born Scared! ***

COMING SOON!

Powder
(The Legotti Family #3)

By Leopold Borstinski

Owning a huge amount of money is useless if you can’t spend it. With the mob and the Feds on your tail, the last thing you need is family trouble. And there’s plenty of that in this gripping new installment in the life of the Lagotti clan.

Set three years after the First Bank of Baltimore robbery, this fresh tale is a perfect stand-alone story, which will be enjoyed by new and existing readers.

*** Click here to read more & to read an excerpt! ***

KIDS-DAY FRI-YAY! - Lex

Lex

By Dimitris Chatzilias

Lex decides to enter the forest for the first time and discover all the secrets that are hidden in it. Apart from new places, events and creatures, Lex, accompanied by his oak tree friend, explores personal limitations, causes of behaviors, interactions with the environment and people around him, the value of respect in these interactions and, most importantly, the meaning of freedom, which is the central subject of the book. Their roaming is a course towards adulthood and independence through questioning, healthy disobedience and critical thinking. Although the story gives the chance for a deeper level of interpretation for older children, it remains a fun and adventurous read for all ages. Without being heavy or instructional, the book's main goal is to trigger critical thought and constructive conversations; to let Lex's discoveries during his roaming be perceived in a free and personal way by each reader. To inspire children who are just taking their first steps in life with the joy of spreading their own wings and taking their future into their own hands, and also to remind older readers of the excitement of constant exploration, one of the most important ingredients in a joyful life.