Dani is a Book & Wine Pairing Blogger from the mountains of West Virginia. She loves to read anything she can get her hands on while sipping on a glass of wine and snuggling with her fur-babies.

Professional ReaderReviews Published
ARC Review: My Lullaby of You

My Lullaby of You

By Alia Rose

 
 

I have been fortunate enough to receive an ARC of My Lullaby of You by Alia Rose through Xpresso Book Tours! While over the last couple of years or so I have tried to stay away from the Romance section in the bookstore, I do occasionally pick one up from time to time. 😊 I have found that I try my hardest (which isn't so hard) to stay away from Harlequin Romance novels. They are most definitely not my thing! But for the most part I can get into a good romance every once an awhile. So, let's see how this one fares for the romance dabbler. 

20180527_141607 (3)-01-01.jpeg

Alia has been writing since she fell in love with reading at a young age and now the characters in her head refuse to leave her alone. My Lullaby of You is her first novel.

When she is not writing, she works full time as an architectural designer and enjoys drinking too much coffee, making to-do lists, and traveling.

You can find her rambling about all of the above on her website: www.aliarosewrites.com and on Instagram and Twitter @aliarosewrites. (Plum Anchor Press)

20180527_141607 (3)-01-02.jpeg

For fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen, My Lullaby of You is a Young Adult Contemporary Romance about guarded love, complicated families, and the summer that changes everything.

AMY
It's the summer after high school. Amy can't wait to leave her small hometown in North Carolina for the vibrant city of Chicago, where she plans to go to her dream college and hopes to build a stronger relationship with her father.

But as she deals with her mother's resentment over her leaving and an intriguing yet provoking college student, Amy's reminded of things she's tried to forget and forced to face emotions she never expected.

SETH

It's the summer before the last year of music school. Seth would rather be anywhere else than a small beach town in North Carolina, reopening wounds he thought he'd patched long ago and facing the father he hasn't seen since his mother's death.

While on his mission for answers, Seth is drawn to an observant and driven local he can't seem to figure out. (Plum Anchor Press)

20180527_141607 (3)-01-03.jpeg

This young adult romance was exactly what I needed in a romance novel! No sex. No foul language. No erotica. Just a good, clean, coming-of-age romance! 

I really enjoyed getting to the beach in this light and airy beach read (someplace I won't be making it to this year. 😢) The characters are sweet with their young love,  they reminded me of my husband and me when we first met (which was a few years younger than Seth and Amy!)

Cute and sweet with some tough back stories, My Lullaby of You is the perfect read for your beach escape no matter your age! Make sure to pick up your copy on June 16th!

 

From one bookaholic to another, I hope I’ve helped you find your next fix.
—Dani

Dani's Score out of 5: 📚📚📚📚


Love this book? For the Young Adult readers, check out The Summer I Turned Pretty series by Jenny Han.

The Summer I Turned Pretty

Belly measures her life in summers. Everything good, everything magical happens between the months of June and August. Winters are simply a time to count the weeks until the next summer, a place away from the beach house, away from Susannah, and most importantly, away from Jeremiah and Conrad. They are the boys that Belly has known since her very first summer--they have been her brother figures, her crushes, and everything in between. But one summer, one terrible and wonderful summer, the more everything changes, the more it all ends up just the way it should have been all along. (Simon & Schuster)

It's Not Summer Without You

Belly finds out what comes after falling in love in this follow-up to The Summer I Turned Pretty from the New York Times bestselling author of To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before (soon to be a major motion picture!), Jenny Han.

Can summer be truly summer without Cousins Beach?

It used to be that Belly counted the days until summer, until she was back at Cousins Beach with Conrad and Jeremiah. But not this year. Not after Susannah got sick again and Conrad stopped caring. Everything that was right and good has fallen apart, leaving Belly wishing summer would never come.

But when Jeremiah calls saying Conrad has disappeared, Belly knows what she must do to make things right again. And it can only happen back at the beach house, the three of them together, the way things used to be. If this summer really and truly is the last summer, it should end the way it started--at Cousins Beach. (Simon & Schuster)

We'll Always Have Summer

It's been two years since Conrad told Belly to go with Jeremiah. She and Jeremiah have been inseparable ever since, even attending the same college-- only, their relationship hasn't exactly been the happily ever after Belly had hoped it would be. And when Jeremiah makes the worst mistake a boy can make, Belly is forced to question what she thought was true love. Does she really have a future with Jeremiah? Has she ever gotten over Conrad? It's time for Belly to decide, once and for all, who has her heart forever. (Simon & Schuster)

For the Adult Romance readers, pick up a copy of The Last Song by Nicholas Sparks.

The Last Song

Seventeen-year-old Veronica "Ronnie" Miller's life was turned upside down when her parents divorced and her father moved from New York City to Wrightsville Beach, North Carolina. Three years later, she remains angry and alienated from her parents, particularly her father... until her mother decides it would be in everyone's best interest if she and her younger brother spent the summer with him in North Carolina.

Ronnie's father, a former concert pianist, is living a quiet life in the beach town, immersed in creating a work of art that will be the centerpiece of a local church. Resentful and rebellious, Ronnie rejects all of his attempts to reach out to her and threatens to return to New York before the summer's end. But soon Ronnie meets Will, the town's local heartthrob, and the last person she thought she'd ever be attracted to. As Ronnie slowly lets her guard down, she find herself falling deeply in love, opening herself up to the greatest happiness - and pain - that she has ever known.

An unforgettable story of love in all its myriad forms - first love, love between parents and children - The Last Song demonstrates, as only a Nicholas Sparks novel can, the many ways that love can break our hearts... and heal them. (Grand Central Publishing)

Pair it with: Boardwalk Chardonnay 

There's nothing more fun than a picnic on the beach, with the ocean breeze whetting your appetite and the view of the water providing an enviable setting. The only thing that would make the scenario even more enjoyable is this picnic-ready Chardonnay from California, with its clean citrus notes and perfectly smooth body. Pair it with anything you’ve packed in your basket, from seafood salads to a wedge of Brie. (Lot18)


Have a book you’d like to suggest or one you’d like me to review? Please feel free to leave your comments down below.



NEW RELEASE! - The Boyfriend Experience

NEW RELEASE! - The Boyfriend Experience

COVER REVEAL! - The Fixer

COVER REVEAL! - The Fixer