All in libations

POP-UP BOOKSTORE!

HELP MAKE A POP-UP BOOKSTORE! 

*** Click here to learn more! ***

ARC REVIEW! - Beast: A Tale of Love and Revenge

Beast: A Tale of Love and Revenge

By Lisa Jensen

If you've been following me for a while, then you know that I am a HUGE Beauty and the Beast fan! So much so that I wish to (one day) name my daughter Belle, and for her to have a bug fluffy dog (who is, naturally, her best friend and protector) and name him Beast. (Yes, life goals are amazing in your 30s, but it's true!) So, tell me a book or movie about my favorite fairy tales is coming out, then you better sing me up, because you know I'm into that!…

*** Click here for my review of Beast: A Tale of Love and Revenge! ***

A 'Thank You ' Book Review

Everything I Never Told You

By Celeste Ng

Everything I Never Told You is a powerfully gripping tale of what it's like to be different, trying to fit in, and the things it makes you do. I highly recommend this book to anyone who has ever felt out of place in the world, and even to those who feel they have always fit in.

Audio Book Extra

Private

By James Patterson and Maxine Paetro

Narrated By Peter Hermann

I have never been a fan of James Patterson's work, but this was one of those freebies with Audible, so I thought: Oh, what the hell. 

James Patterson is a rather popular author... with the right crowd. While I am not necessarily a part of this crowd, I didn't see why I couldn't listen to his book and do a review. Every book needs to be reviewed from different angles, right? So why not add my angle to the list? You never know, an author just might surprise you. 

Book of the Month - March 2018

The Last Equation of Isaac Severy

By Nova Jacobs

When The Last Equation of Isaac Severy was chosen at random, I was  surprised to find that I was a little disappointed. Guess in the beginning I really didn't want to read all of them as much as the other. I hoped that the disappointment wouldn't continue throughout the read. There was only one way to find out: begin the story of Isaac Severy and the mystery he left behind.

Book of the Month - February 2018

The Philosopher's Flight

By Tom Miller

Half Science, Half Magic - Entirely Fantastic

In the tradition of Lev Grossman and Deborah Harkness, Tom Miller writes with unrivaled imagination, ambition, and wit. The Philosopher's Flight is both a fantastical reinvention of the 1910s America and a beautifully composed coming-of-age tale for anyone who has ever felt like an outcast.

A Graphic Novel

My Friend Dahmer

By Derf Backderf

When Emry pulled A Graphic Novel out of the jar I felt my stomach kind of drop. This wasn't a topic I was excited about in the beginning, and here it was staring in the face. What was I going to do? How was I going to choose which to read? 

So, I did what I thought I needed to do: I went to a comic book store. I walked in and immediately felt like Penny from The Big Bang Theory. Heads turned, the room (it felt, but I'm sure was all in my head) got eerily quiet, and no one moved. An overwhelming discomfort bubbled up and I immediately felt out of my element. I turned around and walked out.

An Audio Book Extra

The Goldfinch

By Donna Tartt; Narrated by David Pittu

Over the last few years I have come across and, rather quickly, dismissed The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt. I can give no reason as to why, but for some reason I would see it sitting on a shelf, and then move on to the next book or item beside it. I never picked it up to hold it in my hands. I never turned it over to read the synopsis on the back cover. I never brushed my fingers along the golden feathers of the little finch that so much of the book is about. I simply saw it, judged it, and moved on. 

The book kind of disappeared from view for me for a while and then all of sudden, there is was again, back in my life, much like the goldfinch does with Theodore Decker, the main character and narrator of the story.